The Institute of Measurement &

Control, recognised by Royal Charter, is an international network of professional engineers and scientists covering the measurement, automation and control fields.

We aim to promote high standards of professional competence, informing and supporting our members in their careers, as well as providing a bridge between academic research and industrial practice.

The Institute works to encourage students into the fields of engineering and science, to engage with the wider public, inform government policy and to collaborate with related organisations.

www.instmc.org



Awards Night





3rd July 2025 The Royal Institution

PROGRAMME

InstMC Awards Night is an annual event where prestige awards are presented to individuals or teams for their outstanding contribution and services to measurement and control as well as the activities of the Institute.

The Guest Lecture will be presented by **Professor Gilberto Brambilla**, winner of the *Sir Harold Hartley Award*.

6.30pm – 6.55pm	Registration
7.00pm – 7.05pm	Introduction & Welcome: InstMC President, Sheila Smith
7.05pm – 7.30pm	Guest Lecture by Professor Gilberto Brambilla
7.30pm – 8.00pm	Presentation of Awards: Sheila Smith & Ken Grattan
8.00pm – 9.00pm	Wine & Canapé Reception
9.00pm	Evening Close

GUEST LECTURE Professor Gilberto Brambilla

Listening with Light

'How optical fibres have aided the distributed monitoring of sound and vibrations.'

While optical fibres have often been associated with data transmission and internet, they can also perform an important role in monitoring the sounds and vibrations of the surrounding environment. In this talk, Professor Brambilla will summarise the work carried out at the University of Southampton to improve the performance of optical fibre distributed acoustic sensing and possible applications.



2

Prof. Gilberto Brambilla, Professor of Photonics and Associate Dean (International), University of Southampton.

2025 AWARDS TO BE PRESENTED

Sir Harold Hartley Award - for outstanding contribution to the technology of measurement and control Professor Gilberto Brambilla

Callendar Award - for outstanding contribution to the art of instruments or measurement Professor Stuart Robson

Oxburgh Award – given to any person whose contribution to measurement, instrumentation and control in the field of environmental science and engineering is of outstanding merit Professor Jim Lynch OBE

> Finkelstein Award - for notable contributions to measurement internationally Professor Paolo Carbone

Honeywell International Award - for distinguished work in control by Chartered Measurement and Control Technologists Professor Eric Kerrigan

Cornish Award – given to an individual, group or company that has excelled in some dimension of scientific instrument making within industry, academia, national or international laboratories. Mr John Deer on behalf of Renishaw plc (in memory of Sir David McMurtry) This award is sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Scientific Instrument Makers (WCSIM).

Institute Award for Exceptional Early Career Engineers - given to an individual, regardless of age, who is within approximately 10 years of starting work in Engineering, in the fields of measurement, instrumentation or control, demonstrating an 'over and above' level of achievement Mr Ben Thompson

Honorary Fellowship – recognising distinguished, and normally long, service to the Institute and or measurement and control Dr Eddie Lock

Honorary Fellowship – recognising distinguished, and normally long, service to the Institute and or measurement and control Mr Martin Belshaw

L B Lambert Award - for meritorious service to the Institute through involvement with Local Sections, Special Interest Groups and InstMC committees

Mr Billy Chow

L B Lambert Award - for meritorious service to the Institute through involvement with Local Sections, Special Interest Groups and InstMC committees Ms Claire Jones

L B Lambert Award - for meritorious service to the Institute through involvement with Local Sections, Special Interest Groups and InstMC committees Mr Cevn Vibert

